Memory Vessel

Here’s an example of a wonderful poem written by one of my workshop participants –

What will I place in my memory vessel for you?
by Lizzie Chittleboro

I will fill it with the scent of summer;

The first time I smelt your head
warm, milky, of you, of me, of otherness

Jasmine it’s tangled green branches
bearing small white flowers heavy with exotic musk

Alpine strawberries and their delicate scent creeping
their unruly way across the terrace

Beach bags full of salty, damp swimming costumes
mingling with a treasure trove of sea weed and shells

What will I place inside my memory vessel for you?
I will fill it with the sounds of autumn;

The shuffle and swish of leaves underfoot in the hollow way
the crackle of pruned branches and dead wood on the bonfire

The whizz and zoom of rockets
gasps of surprise as brightly coloured sparks fall from the sky

The noisy rronk, rronk of the Brent geese announcing their arrival
back from the Arctic to the fields near the sea.

The wind as it whistles down the chimney
and around the sturdy walls of the house

What will I place in my memory vessel for you?
I will fill it with the taste of winter;

Of porridge warm with cinnamon
butter melting on thick doughy toast

Casseroles slowly cooked tender with love
Tantalising curry spicy on your tongue

Chestnuts almost burnt to a crisp on the fire
Tangy tangerines tasting of far away places

Shiny chocolate parcels from a glittering tree
sacred, mysterious, delicious
What will I put in my memory vessel for you?
I will fill it with the feelings of spring;

Hope rising and tapping me to wake up
and see the green buds as they unfurl

Shrugging off my old coat
to let the gentle sun caress my skin

Damp grass between my toes
my heavy boots abandoned

My heart leaping in a secret clearing
feet dancing just above the waves of bright bluebells

 

Leave a Reply

